Injury

The Straw that Broke the Camels Back

camel-1624643

I spoke to soon, I was so exciting about simply being able to go to a spin class. But spin class wasn’t the straw that broke the camels back. It was the next day I again re-injured my back. From what my doctors have told me walking is still beneficial for low back pain so I have been able to do that at least.  I have surprisingly gotten a lot of step on my fitbit regardless.  My son and I actually got sunburned, it was so nice to finally have 70 degree weather I couldn’t resist being outside.  As for back issues, my right leg felt like it was several inches shorter than the other. My dad says this happens because your muscles are irritated and pulls the pelvis. I went to the chiropractor for my pelvis, but he had to work on everything above the lumbar and with my spine in a neutral position. Since this is the second injury in the last two months my Back Dr will be getting me in to do a epidural injection.  I’m crossing my fingers.  With weights in the last month I had been taking it pretty easy, I have been doing mostly my core physical therapy exercises, and then some back machines. The day that I tweaked my back that morning I did some push ups, and some glut exercises.  I think when I actually tweaked my back it was doing something super simple and it was just straw that broke the camels back. I literally just bent over, not picking something up, not twisting, not some epic layup in a basketball game, at least I could have a cool story, but nope.

I’ve been struggling with back issues for 2-3 years now.  I haven’t added yoga to the mix, so I think my new plan will be a mix of weights and yoga and hopefully massage!  I’m not talking crossfit weights, this back doesn’t need 2000 deadlifts.

Injury is part of the fitness journey, or at least injury prevention. But its not going to stop us, just a change of the game plan.

Leave a Reply

