Food

Quinoa Lasagna- Gluten Free

FRENCHMy mother in law actually came up with this recipe, I’ve taken it from there and changed things a bit. But I thought her idea was brilliant so I’ve added it into my normal round of dinners. We go over to their house for Sunday dinners I currently don’t eat gluten and her sister wasn’t able to chew anything from a broken jaw.  So she made us a special small pan of an alternate lasagna, and it was absolutely delicious! I’ve seen lots of recipes for using zucchini slices instead of pasta for a lower carb lasagna alternative, I’ve considered trying this, but I also make dinner for other than just me and getting them to eat a veggies lasagna alternative would be a rough night.  My toddler son did enjoy this quinoa lasagna though, he finished all of it.

Quinoa Lasanga

1 cup of dry quinoa- cooked

1 lb of sausage

1 jar of spaghetti sauce  ( ours is homemade and canned)

Cottage cheese ( to your preference)

Shredded mozzarella (to your preference)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook the quinoa, I use a pressure cooker to cook mine, I put 1 cup of dry quinoa and 1 1/2 cups of water and turn it on for 6 minutes.  Cook your sausage then pour in the spaghetti sauce to warm it up.  Now the layering begins, Put quinoa on the bottom layer of a 9 x 9 pan,  then layer meat with sauce, than layer cottage cheese.  Keep on layering and top with the shredded mozzarella.  Since there are no noodles to cook it doesn’t need to be in the oven for very long, I put mine in for 20 minutes to mostly melt the cheese.

*I sped my prep time up by putting the sausage and spaghetti sauce in a crock-potin the morning.

One thought on “Quinoa Lasagna- Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

