Food

Go to Dinner- Chicken Tortilla Soup

Chicken Tortilla SoupThere are some days when my mind can’t spend much time thinking about what to make for dinner, other days I love planning to use a new recipe.

I have several recipes I use on a biweekly or weekly basis. It uses several things from my food storage and its versatile so if I have a few more items on hand I’ll throw them in there. So its a win-win, I never get tired of eating chicken tortilla soup either. Today I was on a I just want to get dinner going and then I don’t want to worry about it for the rest of the day, so I pulled out my crockpot!

Chicken Tortilla Soup

1 Chicken Breast- sometimes I’ll use one, sometimes two if I wanted more meat

1 Medium sized jar of canned salsa

1 Can of stewed tomatoes

1 Can of black beans, drained

2 Tsps of chicken better than bouillon

2 Cups of water

1 Tsp of minced garlic

1/2 Tsp of chili powder

1/2 Tsp of red pepper flakes

1/2 Tsp of cumin

1/4 Tsp of garlic powder

If you want more veggies- I add cut up onion, and cut up green peppers, and maybe some frozen corn.

I throw it all in the crockpot for ideally 8 hours on low, but if I started it later I’ll do it for 6 hours on high. ┬áBefore I serve I shred the chicken and throw on some shredded cheese, or if I have cilantro on hand and some limes. ┬áMy toddler son will actually eat his veggies in this soup and he doesn’t even know it!

 

Leave a Reply

