Food

Roasted Chickpeas

chickpea-315508I have tried roasting chickpeas many times before I’ve gotten the process down so it works out well and I’ve experimented with several flavors.  Today though I tried spicy, really flavorful flavors.  I tried sirachi, honey mustard, and carribean jerk flavored roasted chickpeas.   Sirachi and carribean jerk turned out extremely well, I used olive oil with the spices or sauce with those and they are crispy, crunchy and amazing and perfect in place of a crouton.  The honey mustard I followed a recipe that did not include oil and they didn’t turn out as well, they never really got crispy even though they were in the oven 30 minutes longer than normal, and of course when I was adding honey mustard a ton came out inside of a little.  They are still pretty good, the flavor is delicious, almost like those honey mustard pretzels from vending machines.

Recently I tried a Mediterranean restaurant and in place of croutons they use roasted chickpeas, which is brilliant.  So I figured I’d try some flavorful croutons chickpeas to add to salad or just for snacks.

For canned chickpeas, I open up the can, strain it, spray them with water and let it drain, then set the chickpeas on paper towels to dry and I pat on top with another paper towel, this seems to help them roast faster.

Sirachi roasted chickpeas

1.5 cups of chickpeas

1.5 tsp of sirachi

1 tbsp of olive oil

Salt to taste

Put in the oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, turning the chickpeas halfway through.

Caribbean jerk roasted chickpeas 

1.5 cups of chickpeas

1 tbsp of olive oil

Carribean jerk spice mix to taste, I added lots ( I found this in the McCormick spice section)

Salt to taste

Put in oven on 400 degrees for 30 minutes.  I added more of Carribean jerk spice after I took them out of the oven.

Leave a Reply

